Holidays, Drinking, and Donations

by https://unsplash.com/kelleybozarth

It’s the 4th, as everyone knows, and holidays seem to be more about getting soused than celebrating the actual reason we have the holiday, am I right? Everything you see and watch gives the impression that one cannot fully enjoy a holiday without a drink in one’s hand…well, I’m here today to do just that.

The past 3 days have been…well, they’ve been. Yesterday I rounded the corners on two decks with trimmed borders, and then I spent most of the afternoon trimming my DruidCraft tarot (pictures are on Instagram, and wow, what a difference in size and look!!!!).  Having something to do really helped when the thoughts of drowning myself in alcohol crossed my mind; I was able to notice how the feeling ebbed and flowed and the same for the intense emotions that caused the desire ( I also noticed how often the thought of drinking to deal with various thoughts and situations crossed my mind). We really – well, I really – do let emotions drive reactions, and if the instantaneous reaction is removed, the control of the emotions is lessened.

I’ve know this, we all read about it, yet putting it into practice isn’t always easy. It will be interesting to see how stepping back will play out over the month.

breast cancerOn a serious note, again, the whole point of this Dry July is NOT about me not drinking for a month, it’s to raise money for breast cancer. I am saving what I would have normally spent on alcohol and am going to donate it at the end of the month (considering my salary, the amount is astonishing when I add it up in my head). I’ve been watching my friend’s donation page, and I haven’t seen any new donations and this makes me sad. A fund-raiser to get a new online sci-fi series garnered millions in days, and kickstarters are raising funds every day, yet something as serious as a breast cancer walk is barely getting a drop. Why is that? Is it because being able to watch something like said series or having a concrete item in hand once the kickstarter goes through gives a feeling of ‘a bang for your buck’, whereas donating to research that may one day help someone but at the moment gives you, yourself, nothing concrete in return doesn’t?

Without the funds, research can go no where. Research for my essential tremor relies on donations, as does research for every single disease, cancer, and affliction there is. All mental health issues, all the one-in-a-million cancers no one has ever heard of…every single one of them. And no, you don’t seem to get a return on your investment, but someone does. And even if that someone is the only person in the entire world who does, do they not deserve a chance? Don’t we all know of someone who has died of breast cancer? Don’t we all know someone who is now undergoing treatment for it and is fighting daily for his or her life? Don’t they deserve the chance for better treatments that come about from the research that is made possible by your donation?

So please, while you’re reading along and checking out my Instagram pictures (lots of tea, lol!)…take the time to donate. Every little bit helps, even $5. Plus, my friend has been training really, really hard for this walk (and if you knew her from back when, you’d be just as amazed and proud of her as I am). It would be so sad if she didn’t meet her goal and was unable to participate, so let’s kick it up and get her over that goal!

And thank you, from the bottom of my heart, because hell, every single one of us has the chance of getting cancer, and that includes me. And if it happens that I do one day contract it, well, I want to thank all of you ahead of time for the treatments that will give me a fighting chance. And if it’s you, I will be so happy to have been of help before you knew you needed it.

©Pip Miller – July 2015

 

6 thoughts on “Holidays, Drinking, and Donations

  1. Pingback: How Much of Drinking is Habit vs Craving | This Hobbit's Life

  2. Pingback: What Emotion Drives Your Drinking? | This Hobbit's Life

Thoughts?

