Life with Essential Tremor

I was at work today, attempting to write codes on price tags, and noticed that my hands were going bonkers. So I thought I’d try to do a quick vid of them, and see if the computer will let it run without attempting to stabilize the tremor. When I put my fingers on the desk, the tremor is mainly being shown from the hand holding the camera.. Ain’t we got fun? 😉

Some days, after I’ve used my muscles (like carrying groceries or handling a shovel), the tremor is nuts. It can take hours before it’s at the point where I can hold a glass and not spill everything in it. I tried to take a video of my hands after one shovel episode (picking up dog doo), but the computer kept stabilizing the movement of my thumb. It was like a hummingbird’s wing.

This is it on Tumblr, but it really gives NO true idea of how fast my thumb, and the rest of my hand which looks suspiciously still though it was bouncing all over the place, is moving.

http://http://thishobbitslife.tumblr.com/post/96383899313/thats-not-a-blurry-shot-thats-my-thumb-check

There are so many who have no clue what essential tremor is, yet it’s one of the most common ‘ailments’ around. The International Essential Tremor Foundation has a wonderful website where you can learn all about this condition. And did you know that Katharine Hepburn had it? That’s what caused her head to shake and the tremor in her voice as she got older. I’m in good company! 😉

So the next time you’re out and you’re dealing with someone whose hands shake – or their head – give pause, it could be ET. And those people you see in restaurants attempting to eat their food without spilling it all over themselves before it reaches their mouth? Most likely ET, too, and one day that will be me. I’ve noticed that many people assume it’s some sort of withdrawal from booze or drugs, and that’s a terrible assumption! So read up on it; who knows, it could run in your family and no one even realized!

©Pip Miller – October 2014

Thoughts?

