Filofax and the Bullet Journal

It’s been a while since I did a post about using my Filofax – in this case my Personal Fusion, and I came across a post on G+ today by Becky of Becky’s Paper Route which has me writing about it again.

©Pip Miller

I’ve been using a Filofax for a while, and currently have 3. The Personal is the one I carry with me to use on a daily basis, but as you can see, I’ve been seriously under-using it.

019

Some days DO have notes, but again, nothing extensive (excuse the #essentialtremor blurred picture). Granted, there are days that have more written down, but overall not many.

©Pip Miller

©Pip Miller

I even have a year planner, and not one thing noted on it. Planning is not my strong suit, especially for an entire year!

024

After reading Becky’s post and watching the Bullet Journal vid again, I restructured the bullet icons I was using (I tore up the key I had written, or I’d show you how ridiculous it was), and now it’s not only simpler, but more in tune with what I really need to note.

©Pip Miller

I’m also going to implement the monthly calendar and monthly task list, something I’ve not used one bit. I think more planning would probably help me, don’t you? 😉 I’ll do an update in a month or so and let you know how it’s going. I’m also using my beloved A5 Chameleon for my healing work, and I’m about to go set up a bullet system for that one, too.

©Pip Miller

©Pip Miller – October 2014

6 thoughts on “Filofax and the Bullet Journal

  1. Ah, yes yes yes. Planning. Desperately in need of that now..!!

    How would you plan stuff if you were me? I’m studying at home, writing my master’s thesis, all alone with no structure whatsoever, having my kid here half of the time, and then trying to go to the very expensive gym…. Help!

    Like

    • Bit by bit. Set your big intention, then the goals that will get you to that intention, then the little tasks that will achieve the goals.

      Knowing you, I find it surprising that you have no structure or plan!!

      Like

  2. Yeah… 🙂 It’s like I have a sinking ship with 50 wholes and two hands and two feet… Think Goofy. :p

    I can only plan and structure so much before it comes to pieces again, sometimes even because of the planning… I want too much. When my to do lists for the day or week or month aren’t accomplished, I toss the whole thing.

    So I need a system which kinda covers it all. Me needs a filofax..!

    Like

    • The key is to make DOABLE to-do lists. Things you know you can accomplish each day, even if it’s “clean computer monitor”…then you’ll build more checked-off items and there will be those important ones in there, too, and next thing you know, you’ll be allllll organized! 😉

      BTW…a Filofax in-and-of-itself isn’t going to make things better; it’s how you use it that does it. 🙂

      Like

  3. LOL yes, I know. It’s where I crash every time. I find an app or a notebook or something, thinking that yes, this is it! And then I put all my Big Goals in it, wanting everything to get done…. Leaving me only with loooong lists of… Failures. Not because of the need of being a Good Girl, but because of that inner drive that unfortunately surpasses time, energy and all thinkable natural laws!

    Like

Thoughts?

