Do What Brings You Peace

*originally posted on my website 1/22/14*

peace-sign-groovy-teal

Recently I made the decision to switch jobs, a choice that resulted in a substantial loss of income and led someone to refer to me as an “idiot”. While that hurt (a lot, actually), I learned long ago that there isn’t any amount of money that will cause you to like a job you can’t stand. Period.

I now look forward to going into work because my days are filled with giggles, friendship, stimulating conversations, being of service to others by helping them learn and grow…plus I get to play sing-along-and-loud music, too! Add to that the fact that I’m in a position to grow my healing business locally and I’m in heaven!

I had to do what brings me peace. And by doing so, there have been little off-shoots of peace into other areas of my life: I’m eating less and better, moving more, laughing out loud on a daily basis, rarely brooding or worrying, and best of all, my relationship has calmed down and become peaceful, too!

It doesn’t take a huge change like mine to bring peace into your life; it could be something as small as eating that piece of chocolate instead of the salad you “should” have because you know you’ll end up eating mindlessly the rest of the day in an attempt to quell that craving, you could choose to sit alone in the sun instead of with your kvetching and whinging coworkers in the lunch room, or you could purchase that single daisy in the mini vase for your desk instead of sticking to your very strict no-frills budget…

Each decision to do what brings you peace will blossom into another decision and another, and pretty soon there will be a feeling of calm and joy in your life; it may not be immediately noticeable, but it will be there. And that’s something worth nurturing, don’t you think?

What can you do today to bring a bit of peace into your life? Comment below and let us know!

©Pip Miller – January 2014

Thoughts?

