“Is This Who I Am?”

books3

Recently I came across “Friendship with God: An Uncommon Dialogue” by Neale Donald Walsh, and it really has me thinking. In it God* says to ask yourself, “Is this Who I Am” before making any decision, whether it be a big one like getting married, or a small one like what to wear. That when you ask yourself this question, you tap into your Self and begin to live the best version of YOUR self, rather than the unthinking version we all tend to live.Not only have I been asking myself that (and yes, it’s making me really consider my choices, especially with respect to how I interact with others), but I’ve been paying attention to that biggie, the “I Am…” phrase. The unconscious sentence we use more times than it’s possible to count in one day, heck, in one hour! Every little time we say, “I’m tired”, “I’m broke”, “I’m not good at this or that…”, each and every time we’re putting that thought out into the ‘verse, and the ‘verse is listening. It hears it all, and it doesn’t take into account “don’t want”, it hears it all as “want”, so “I don’t want to get sick, I don’t want to get sick” is heard as “bring on the flu, baby!” and yep, we get it in spades.When I woke up this morning, I caught myself beginning a litany that it seems has been going on for a while in my head, and it wasn’t pretty. Judgments, blame, doubts, fears…I was surprised to realize that I still wanted to get out of bed! I made a conscious effort to rephrase as much of it as I could remember, and to focus on what I am saying after “I’m…”. So far I’ve caught myself stating that my back hurts (and it does), that I never win anything in the lottery (I switched that one really, really quickly!), and I’m not good at drawing. Those are just the tip of the iceberg.I AM light. I AM wonder. I AM joy. I AM a healer. I AM so many things that there aren’t enough words for them all. I AM glorious. And SO ARE you. 🙂

What are you putting out into the ‘verse? How can you remind yourself to take more care with your “I AM…”?

*I’ve come to the conclusion that “God” is just a word, and in-and-of itself has no real meaning. We could call Spirit, well, Spirit. Or George. Or Jody. Or BananaManaWana. It doesn’t matter, because there is no true name for what IS. It just IS. So please, no comments about the word. 🙂

©Pip Miller – April 2014

Thoughts?

