Tips For New Filofax Owners

Now I don’t know if everyone is aware of the huge upsurge in Filofax users, but everywhere I turn on Twitter there’s another mention of them.  And if you search Filofax on youtube, be prepared to spend hours watching vids.  Seriously.  As a result, it’s not only easy to want one, but it’s just as easy to suddenly decide that the one you just purchased, isn’t the right one.  I myself am guilty of that. 😉

©Pip Miller

So I thought I’d give new owners a few tips that I’ve learned this year:

1: When you receive your new ‘brain’, stop watching videos unless they are about that exact binder.  Believe me, if you don’t follow any other tips, this one alone will help keep you and your bank account sane.

2: Watch Rori’s video.  Her tips will make a big difference in how you use your binder.  And it will simplify everything. ETA: I just rewatched this (it’s 7/31/16), and this is still an incredible video, especially for new planner users. You’ll most likely start with everything you see online, and then realize ‘dang, this is ridiculously too much’. Rori helps you figure out what you truly need.

3: Check out the Homemakers Daily time management blog.  She writes posts that are very helpful and all the result of personal experience.  You may also learn things you don’t want to do with your binder, too. 😉  There are a LOT of other Filofax blogs out there, but this one is all about using it.

4: Use your binder for at least 3 months before deciding if it is the right binder or not.  It’s too easy to decide it isn’t without giving it a proper chance. ETA: 3 years later, I now suggest 6 months. You may start getting antsy around 3 months (especially if you’re glued to youtube vids and Filofax blogs), but give it another 3 months of tweaking your set-up before you truly say, ‘nope, this isn’t the one’. Also…keep that binder. You’d be surprised how many people end up going back to a previous one, and if you sold it, there’s more money out of your pocket for something you already had!

5: Don’t feel you must decorate and go washi-tape crazy.  That’s not everyone’s bag and if you start to believe you aren’t a “real” Filofaxer user unless you do, you’re in big trouble.

6: Do what feels right for YOU.  It’s your binder, no one else’s.

7: Have fun! 🙂

©Pip Miller- August 2013

15 thoughts on “Tips For New Filofax Owners

  1. Great Post, thanks! I especially like the part about the wash tapes – watching all those videos and reading the blogposts I felt like I had to write in ten different colours, plastering the pages with matching Washi-tape and as I tried it felt so wrong and well in my planner, I didn´t like all this girly stuff. Now I am doing it my way – it´s maybe not worth a pinterest-picture, but for me it feels “home”.

    Like

  2. Great post. I have only just entered the very overwhelming world of Filofax, and I too have spent many hours watching video after video after reading blog upon blog on all kinds of Filofaxes. While I am loving it, it does make your head spin a bit… 😉 But then, I now am guilty too of adding more to the mix and posting my own blogs and videos. And so it continues……. 😉

    Like

    • *L* I was doing vids, too, but backed off. Partly because of my essential tremor and partly because I don’t really have anything new to say. 😉

      Blogging, on the other hand…*L*

      Like

Thoughts?

